Skip To Main Content

Exceptional Child Education (ECE)

Office Phone:  (502) 477-6787

Office Fax:  (502) 477-6786


Welcome to the Spencer County Schools Exceptional Child Education Webpage.  This site is designed to assist community members, parents, prospective parents, educators, and students. The website provides introductory information about special education services in the Spencer County Schools.

We are a team of professionals dedicated to providing services for students needing specially designed instruction (SDI). The Spencer County School District provides services to children and youth ages 3-21 who qualify for SDI.  General educators and special educators work collaboratively with parents to provide services for our students.  Educational services are individually determined based on a student’s educational disability and the student’s individual needs.

We have staff ready to answer any questions you may have about the education of students with special needs. You can reach someone at the Spencer County ECE Office by calling 502-477-6787 or by email at


*Listed below are resources/ links for parents and teachers.*

Parent Resources

Acronyms and Definitions

Autism Guidance Document

Parent Guide for Special Education

Parent Involvement Webpage

Transfer Student Policy



Teacher Resources

Behavior Intervention Plan

IDEA Compliance Record Review Document

IEP and Lesson Plan Development Handbook

KDE Guidance Documents

Kentucky Autism Training Center Website

Student Observation Form


NEW Teacher Documents

Child Find Notice

IEP Guidance Document 

2023 Section 504 Procedures 

2022 Special Education Waiver Process

Spencer County Exceptional Child Services Procedures

504 Plan Referral Form (Updated 2023)



Proud Partner of WHAS Crusade for Children

For the 23 - 24 school year, the Crusade awarded Spencer County Schools with $40,000 to go toward an adaptive playground.


For more information regarding Exceptional Children's Education please visit:

Kentucky Dept. of Education ECE Website

ECE Leadership Team

Todd Russell - Director of Diverse Learning (ECE, 504, G/T, ELL, BC) 

Tammy Hawkins - Special Education Consultant/ 504 ARC Chairperson

Michelle McKinley - Special Education Admin. Assistant

Holly Purvis - School Psychologist (TES)

Kelly Schweitzer - School Psychologist (SCES)

Kyle Riggs - School Psychologist (SCHS, SCMS, Hillview)

Denise Shelburne - ARC Chairperson (SCHS, SCMS, Hillview)

Terri Booth - ARC Chairperson   (TES and SCES)

Ashley Newton - CWTP/ Student Employment Specialist